I can’t believe the 2000’s are almost over.  Remember the “panic” of Y2K?  Seems like ages ago … and eerily, it was!

New Year’s Eve 1999 was 10 years ago.  I was trying to think back to where I was then:

I was in the middle of my freshman year of college.  Didn’t know where I was headed after graduation, but I think at the time was gearing up for a career in radio (I was a Communications major).  We had a big group party at my friend Felix’s house on Long Island.

It was a blast.  We played a board game version of Family Feud and lots of rounds of Twister.  We met Sterling, thanks to Jen Ro.  Kate and Pakalika at one point donned a witch wig found in Felix’s house and sang to a song from Rocky Horror Picture Show.  At one point I climbed out the first floor guest room window and dashed out into the snow to dance around with my friends and demand piggybacks (I was in a funny stage).

I remember waking up on January 1, 2000 still in my black poufy Jessica McClintock prom skirt I was wearing the night before (after prom, I insisted on getting my money’s worth and wearing it to every New Year’s party for a couple of years).  I still had some tinsel and glitter in my hair, and someone had written “Hi Mem” on my arm (thanks Kate, I think it was you…).

And I remember thinking, now what?

I was in such a different place than I am now.  Ten years ago I wasn’t in a relationship, still called Long Island my hometown, and felt like I had thousands of years ahead of me until I became an adult.

Now fast forward ten years.  I won’t even begin to go into the many changes since New Year’s 1999, but I can tell you that had you told me ten years ago (heck, even five years ago!) that I’d be where I am now, I would’ve laughed at you. 

But I’m here.

And I love it.

2010 starts off with me loving my PR job in Boston and only five months shy of my wedding to the most amazing guy.  2010 kicks off the beginning of our life together, a whole new chapter in my life that will lead to even more wonderful chapters – our first house together, kids, etc …

When I look back at the 2000’s, I see a lot of happy times.  But I see a lot of sad times, too.  I see a lot of lonely times, and frustrating times.  I went through a lot of guy hell through the 2000’s.  And it’s finally time to close that chapter on my life for good.  I’ve found happiness, and I’m not looking back.

Billboard recently released the top one hit wonders of the past decade.  It made me start to think about what song I would use to sum up the 2000’s for me.  But I can’t.  There’s too many songs that might fit.

However, I feel like this song is a good indicator of where I am now.  See ya later, 2000’s – I’m ready for the next step. 🙂

